

TOURNAMENT NOTES

as of July 19, 2018

THE WOMEN'S HOSPITAL CLASSIC EVANSVILLE, IN • JULY 22-29



TOURNAMENT INFO

Site: Wesselman Park Tennis Center - Evansville, Ind.

Websites: www.evansvilletennis.com www.procircuit.usta.com

Facebook: EvansvilleTennisCenter

Qualifying Draw Begins: Sunday, July 22

Main Draw Begins: Tuesday, July 24

Main Draw: 32 Singles / 16 Doubles

Surface: Hard / Outdoor

Prize Money: \$15,000

Tournament Directors: Anna Hazlett, (812) 430-4890, advcourt@aol.com Kim Poynter (812) 499-1004

Tournament Press Contact: Ryan McDaniel, (317) 213-7697 rmcdaniel@evansvilletennis.com

USTA Communications Contact:

Pat Mitsch; (914) 697-2291; mitsch@usta.com

PRIZE MONEY / POINTS

SINGLES:	Prize Money	Ranking Points
Winner	\$2,352	12
Runner-up	\$1,470	7
Semifinalist	\$734	4
Quarterfinalist	\$367	2
Round of 16	\$294	1
Round of 32	\$147	-
DOUBLES:	Prize Money (per team)	
Winner	\$955	
Runner-up	\$515	
Semifinalist	\$294	
Quarterfinalist	\$147	
Round of 16	\$74	

THE WOMEN'S HOSPITAL CLASSIC CELEBRATES 20 YEARS

The **Women's Hospital Classic** is taking place in Evansville for the 20th consecutive year. It is the only USTA Pro Circuit event taking place in Indiana this year and one of seven women's events that make up the summer hard-court season in preparation for the US Open.

Notable players competing in Evansville include:

Michaela Gordon, 18, Saratoga, Calif.

• 2018 All-American in singles and doubles as a freshman at Stanford; Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Rookie of the Year; Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and First-Team singles selection; Finished the season No. 21 in the nation in collegiate singles.

Elysia Bolton, 18, Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.

- Set to join UCLA as a freshman this fall.
- Former Top-25 world-ranked junior.

• Born in Sydney, Australia, but moved to Chicago at a young age, where she lived for 14 years before relocating to Long Island.

Brienne Minor, 20, Mundelein, III.

• 2017 NCAA singles champion, won as a sophomore at the University of Michigan; Became the first African-American woman to win the NCAA singles title.

• Earned a wild card entry and competed in the US Open that year, falling in the first round.

• Battled knee injuries in her junior season, but helped the Wolverines win their secondever Big Ten title and earned the conference's Outstanding Sportsmanship Award.





Michaela Gordon was an All-American as a freshman at Stanford this season.

Alexa Graham, 20, Garden City, N.Y.

• Recently completed her sophomore season at UNC and was named a doubles all-American.

• Has won two pro singles titles, one last year at a \$15,000 hard-court event in Victoria, B.C., and the other in 2015 at the USTA Pro Circuit \$10,000 clay-court event in Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Connie Ma, 15, Dublin, Calif.

• Reached the semifinals of the USTA Girls' 16s national championships last August as a 16-year old.

• Named to the 2018 USTA Junior Leadership Team, which honors junior players across the country who demonstrate exemplary sportsmanship and character.

Taylor Johnson

• Ranked as high as No. 8 in the world junior rankings in 2017.

• Recently reached the doubles final at the \$60,000 USTA Pro Circuit event in 2018.

• Won the 2017 USTA Girls' 18s national doubles title with Claire Liu and competed in the US Open women's doubles draw last year.

Brienne Minor was the first African-American to win the NCAA women's singles title, which she did in 2017 as a sophomore in Michigan.





EVANSVILLE PAST WINNERS					
Singles			Doubles		
Year	Winner	Runner-Up	Year	Winner	
2017	Ann Li (USA)	Marcela Zacarias (MEX)	2017	Lorraine Guillermo (USA) / Madeleine Kobelt (USA)	
2016	Kennedy Shaffer (USA)	Emina Bektas (USA)	2016	Sophie Chang (USA) – Alexandra Mueller (USA)	
2015	Lauren Herring (USA)	Andie K. Daniell (USA)	2015	Nicha Lertpitaksinchai (THA) – Peangtarn Plipuech (THA)	
2014	Tornado Alicia Black (USA)	Caitlin Whoriskey (USA)	2014	Brooke Austin (USA) – Natalie Pluskota (USA)	
2013	Emina Bektas (USA)	Brooke Austin (USA)	2013	Emina Bektas (USA) – Brooke Bolender (USA)	
2012	Mallory Burdette (USA)	Ying-Ying Duan (CHN)	2012	Ying-Ying Duan (CHN) — Yi-Fan Xu (CHN)	
2011	Elizabeth Ferris (USA)	Nicole Melichar (USA)	2011	Brynn Boren (USA) – Sabrina Santamaria (USA)	
2010	Gabriela Paz (VEN)	Chichi Scholl (USA)	2010	Brynn Boren (USA) — Sabrina Santamaria (USA)	
2009	Elizabeth Lumpkin (USA)	Kaitlyn Christian (USA)	2009	Maria Sanchez (USA) – Yasmin Schnack (USA)	
2008	Megan Moulton-Levy (USA)	Emily Webley-Smith (GBR)	2008	Rebecca Marino (CAN) – Ellah Nze (USA)	
2007	Kimberly Couts (USA)	Helena Besovic (BIH)	2007	Jenna Long (USA) — Anna Lubinsky (USA)	
2006	Audra Cohen (USA)	Lauren Albanese (USA)	2006	Beau Jones (USA) — Tiya Rolle (USA)	
2005	Sarah Taylor (USA)	Kristi Miller (USA)	2005	Wynne Prakusya (INA) – Romana Tedjakusuma (INA)	
2004	Nicole Leimbach (USA)	Anda Perianu (ROU)	2004	Kelly Schmandt (USA) – Aleke Tsoubanos (USA)	
2003	Stephanie Hazlett (USA)	Neyssa Etienne (HAI)	2003	Tamara Encina (USA) – Alison Ojeda (USA)	
2002	Shadisha Robinson (USA)	Deanna Roberts (AUS)	2002	Jin-Hee Kim (KOR) – Aiko Nakamura (JPN)	
2001	Chanelle Scheepers (RSA)	Kristen Schlukebir (USA)	2001	Vilmarie Castellvi (PUR) – Alison Ojeda (USA)	
2000	Kelly McCain (USA)	Stephanie Hazlett (USA)	2000	Tomoe Hotta (JPN) – Ryoko Takemura (JPN)	
1999	Kristina Kraszewski (USA)	Lara Van Rooten (USA)	1999	Amanda Augustus (USA) — Elizabeth Schmidt (USA)	